Board of Directors

The Fund’s Board of Directors includes corporate, civic and education leaders working to ensure that every child in Chicago has access to a world-class public education. Directors pool their dollars, ideas and time with the belief that strategic investments can have a positive impact on the performance of Chicago’s district and charter public schools.

They lend their valuable intellect and influence in promoting the singular goal of making Chicago the first major urban area to achieve a critical mass of great public schools, and are deeply involved at every stage of The Fund’s investment process. The success of The Fund’s strategy depends largely on the commitments of these volunteer leaders.

Brian P. Simmons

Managing Partner, Shorehill Capital


Brent Gledhill

Global Head of Investment Banking, William Blair & Company


Kenneth C. Griffin

Founder and CEO, Citadel

Vice Chairman

Helen Zell

Executive Director, Zell Family Foundation

Vice Chairman

Mellody Hobson

President, Ariel Investments

Governance Committee Chair

Jana R. Schreuder

Chief Operating Officer, The Northern Trust Company


Siddharth (Bobby) Mehta

Former President and CEO, TransUnion


Anthony (Tony) Miller

Co-Founding Partner & Chief Operating Officer, The Vistria Group (Vistria)


Laura Bilicic

Founder, The Gillen Brewer School


Kassie Davis

Executive Director, CME Group Foundation


John Garabedian

Senior Partner and Managing Director, Boston Consulting Group


Jill M. Garling


Penny Bender Sebring

Co-Founder, Consortium on Chicago School Research, University of Chicago


Elizabeth Swanson

Vice President of Strategy and Programs, The Joyce Foundation


Deborah H. Quazzo

Founder and Managing Partner, GSV Acceleration Fund

Stuart Lucas

Chairman and Chief Investment Officer, Wealth Strategist Partners, LLC

Barbara Malott Kizziah

Vice President, Malott Family Foundation

Timothy Knowles

Founder and Managing Partner, The Academy Group


Kevin Callis

Vice President of Operations, State Farm Insurance Companies


Judy Pomeranz

President, Ralph & Evelyn Davis Family Foundation

Jim Frank

CEO, Wheels, Inc.

Gillian Darlow

CEO, Polk Bros. Foundation

Penny Pritzker

Former Secretary, U.S. Department of Commerce

Emeritus Director

The Honorable Bruce V. Rauner

Governor, State of Illinois

Emeritus Director

Timothy R. Schwertfeger

Former Chairman and CEO, Nuveen Investments

Emeritus Director

Scott C. Smith

Former Publisher, Chicago Tribune and President, Tribune Publishing

Emeritus Director

David J. Vitale

Chairman, Urban Partnership Bank